Skip to Main Content Scroll to the top Icon

About Simcoe County

Choosing Simcoe County

Simcoe County is located less than an hour north of the City of Toronto, which makes it an ideal location to raise a family while remaining close to one of the largest cities in Canada. The area not only attracts residents looking for lifestyle options but also industry seeking opportunity for growth and a qualified workforce. Simcoe County boasts excellent regional health care and education facilities, vibrant and unique rural and urban communities, and a host of leisure and recreation opportunities. You’ll find what you’re looking for here, in Simcoe County.

Choosing Simcoe County

Governance in Simcoe County

The County of Simcoe is the upper-tier municipal government in Simcoe County, and is comprised of 16 member municipalities, which include a diverse range of towns and townships. The cities of Barrie and Orillia, The Chippewas of Rama First Nation and Beausoleil First Nation, and Canadian Forces Base Borden are also located within the geographic region of Simcoe County; however, these communities have separate political and administrative structures.

As an upper-tier municipality, the County of Simcoe is responsible for a range of municipal services, which include social housing, land ambulance and emergency planning, environmental services (solid waste management), a County road system, Ontario Works, children’s services, homes for the aged, a library co-operative, museum, archives, County forest management, tourism, a Geographic Information System (computer mapping), and land use policy planning.

Lower-tier municipalities are responsible for water and sewer services, local roads, public libraries, recreation services, fire and police services, land use development control, licensing and permitting services.

Visit the County of Simcoe website to learn more about the governance structure in Simcoe County.

Simcoe County municipal contacts

Here is a list of links to each of the local municipal websites:

The information listed below was provided by 211 Community Connection.

MunicipalitiesWebsitePhone Number
Town of        705-434-5055

Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury     905-775-5366
Town of       705-445-1030
Town of       705-436-3710
Town of 705-526-4275 
Town of New       705-435-3900 or 905-729-0057
Township of 705-428-6230
Township of Essawww.essatownship.on   705-424-9917   

Township of Oro-Medonte     705-487-2171
Town of       705-549-7453
Township of     705-484-5374
Township of   705-325-2315

Township of Springwater     705-728-4784
Township of   705-534-7248
Township of Tiny   
Town of Wasaga Beach       
Beausoleil First     705-247-2051
The Chippewas of Rama First     705-325-3611
City of 705-726-4242
City of Orillia